## Kern National Network for Flourishing in Medicine Founding Board Members



**KERN NATIONAL NETWORK** FOR FLOURISHING IN MEDICINE *Character. Caring. Practical Wisdom.* 

## **About the KNN Founding Board**

Throughout the first phase of its work (2017–2022), the KNN maintained a board composed of representatives from the network's seven founding member schools and the KNN founding director, each of whom was a voting member. We honor those board members for their thoughtful leadership and dedication in setting the initial course for our efforts.

In 2019, the KNN board refined its structure and expanded its focus on advancing character and caring beyond medical education to the profession of medicine broadly, with the ultimate goal of promoting flourishing. In 2020, the KNN board continued to refine its work with a focus on individual initiatives at the seven founding member medical schools, collaborative initiatives across the schools and national efforts for systemic change.

From the beginning, each board member brought an important perspective and contributed much to the work of the KNN as true believers in the shared vision for transforming the profession of medicine. In many ways, the board exemplified the KNN framework and the four foundational elements of character, caring, practical wisdom and flourishing throughout its service.



KNN board members with KFF leaders at the 2022 KNN Conference in Milwaukee, WI. (*Photo by Jay Westhauser*)



**Nicole Borges, PhD** Chair and Professor of Medical Education Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth



## Donald W. Brady, MD

Executive Vice President for Educational Affairs Senior Associate Dean for Health Sciences Education Professor of Medicine and Medical Education and Administration Vanderbilt University School of Medicine



## Sonia N. Chimienti, MD Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education Professor of Medicine Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth



Susan M. Cox, MD Executive Vice Dean of Academics, Dean's Office Chair of the Department of Medical Education Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology President of the Alliance for Clinical Education Dell Medical School at the University of Texas at Austin



Adina Kalet, MD, MPH Stephen and Shelagh Roell Endowed Chair, Professor and Director Robert D. and Patricia E. Kern Institute for the Transformation of Medical Education Professor of Medicine Medical College of Wisconsin



Andrea Leep Hunderfund, MD, MHPE Associate Professor of Neurology Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science



**Catherine Lucey, MD, MACP** Executive Vice Dean and Vice Dean for Education Faustino and Martha Molina Bernadett Presidential Chair in Medical Education Professor of Medicine UCSF School of Medicine



**John Luk, MD** Assistant Dean for Interprofessional Integration Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Medical Education Distinguished Teaching Professor Dell Medical School at the University of Texas at Austin



**Cheryl A. Maurana, PhD** MCW Eminent Scholar Senior Vice President for Strategic Academic Partnerships Professor of Population Health and Founding Director Kern National Network for Flourishing in Medicine Medical College of Wisconsin



Bonnie Miller, MD, MMHC Senior Associate Dean for Health Sciences Education Executive Vice President for Educational Affairs Professor of Clinical Surgery Vanderbilt University School of Medicine



**Gregory Ogrinc, MD, MS** Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth



**Elizabeth Petty, MD** Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Professor of Pediatrics University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health



**Stephanie R. Starr, MD** Director for Science of Health Care Delivery Education Associate Professor of Pediatrics Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine